Virat Kohli's 19th ODI ton takes India to victory

Posted by:
Updated: Thursday, February 27, 2014, 14:52 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Fatullah, Feb 26: Skipper Virat Kohli smashed a magnificent 136 and shared a 213-run partnership with Ajinkya Rahane (73) to lead India to a comfortable six-wicket win over hosts Bangladesh in the Asia Cup, here today.

Scorecard; Kohli equals Lara

Bangladesh captain Mushfiqur Rahim had also hit a sparkling ton to help the hosts post a challenging 279 for seven after being asked to take first strike.

Kohli's 19th ODI ton takes India to win

While Rahim's excellent knock went in vain, Kohli's effort resulted in victory of his team, which has copped a lot of criticism of late for their pathetic performance overseas.

Courtesy Kohli's 19th One-day hundred India recovered well after cheap dismissal of the openers Shikhar Dhawan (28) and Rohit Sharma (21) and overhauled the target with six balls to spare. It was India's first win in the 2014 calender.

Rahane played a key role in India's win as he and Kohli batted together for 33 overs before being separated.

India were just 13 runs away from the win when Kohli was castled by pacer Rubel Hossain in the 46th over. His 136-run knock came off 122 balls with 18 boundaries, including two sixes while Rahane took 83 balls for his innings which had seven fours and a six.

The only blot in Kohli's innings was when on 35 he flicked uppishly at square leg but fielder Rubel could not reach out to the ball.

They also avenged their last defeat to Bangladesh that cost them a final place in 2012 Asia Cup, also held here.

Bangladesh score 279/7

Skipper Mushfiqur Rahim led from the front with a sparkling ton while young opener Anamul Haque impressed with a half-century as Bangladesh overcame early hiccups to post 279/7.

Mushfiqur, who smashed 117 off 113 balls, was grounded after being hit on his ribs by a nasty beamer by Varun Aaron, but the diminutive captain showed enough resilience to complete his second ODI century, a first for Bangladesh against India since Alok Kapali's ton in the 2008 Asia Cup.

The 25-year-old started his innings patiently with Animul going freely at the other end, but after the opener's dismissal, the skipper came into his own, hitting two sixes and seven fours.

The duo was involved in a 133-run third wicket partnership that came after Bangladesh were reduced to 49/2 in the 13th over.

Despite the big partnership though, the lower order failed to fire against a side that boasts of a strong batting line-up.

Mohammad Shami was the pick of Indian bowlers, scalping 4/50 from his quota while it was a flop show for Aaron, who gave away 74 runs before being barred after 7.5 overs for two waist high deliveries, with one of them hitting Mushfiqur.

A less than seven thousand crowd in a 17,000 capacity stadium in Narayangonj district in the southern suburbs of Dhaka did not exactly give it a home-like feel for Bangladesh, as India opted for a run-chase.

A disciplined Shami, who made the first breakthrough in the form of Shamsur Rahman (7) and Ashwin's first-ball wicket after a brilliant stumping by Karthik, reduced the hosts to 49/2 in the 13th over and for a moment it seemed like Bangladesh were playing away from home with the stadium not even half-filled.

But the young Anamul turned it around with his array of strokes in a sensible third-wicket partnership with Mushfiqur as the duo got past their individual half centuries.

Toss Report

India captain Virat Kohli won the toss and opted to field.

Kohli has been named India skipper in the absence of the injured MS Dhoni. It is a new-look middle order for India without Dhoni, Suresh Raina and Yuvraj Singh. Dinesh Karthik has replaced Dhoni as wicketkeeper.

Cheteshwar Pujara, Ishwar Pandey, Amit Mishra and Stuart Binny are the four players who will miss out on this game today.

Bangladesh will be without their all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan, who has been handed a two-match suspension for disciplinary reasons.

Playing XIs

India: Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Dinesh Karthik (wicketkeeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Varun Aaron, Ambati Rayudu.

Bangladesh: Mushfiqur Rahim (captain), Mashrafe Mortaza, Naeem Islam, Rubel Hossain, Ziaur Rahman, Abdur Razzak, Anamul Haque (wicketkeeper), Mominul Haque, Nasir Hossain, Shamsur Rahman, Sohag Gazi.


Story first published:  Wednesday, February 26, 2014, 13:32 [IST]
Write Comments