ICC World T20: Captain MS Dhoni holds record

Posted by:
Published: Monday, March 10, 2014, 13:28 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

World T20: Captain MS Dhoni holds record

Bangalore, Mar 10: After missing the Asia Cup due to an injury, MS Dhoni will return as India captain for the ICC World Twenty20 2014 in Bangladesh starting this month.

Tournament Guide; Schedule; Squads

Dhoni, when he leads India in the opening match against Pakistan in Mirpur on March 21, will further extend his captaincy record at the T20 global tournament.

The wicketkeeper-batsman holds the record of leading India 22 times, most by any skipper, at the ICC World T20 since its inaugural edition in 2007.

In 22 at the helm, Dhoni has won 12. The next best is former England skipper Paul Collingwood with 17. Recently retired South African Graeme Smith is at third with 17.

Dhoni led India to the title in South Africa in 2007 when they defeated Pakistan in the final. Since then, he has also captained the team in 2009 (England), 2010 (West Indies) and 2012 (Sri Lanka) editions.

Most matches as captain at ICC World T20

MS Dhoni - 22 (12 won)

Paul Collingwood - 17 (8)

Graeme Smith - 16 (11)

Kumar Sangakkara 14 (10)

Daniel Vettori - 13 (6)


Write Comments