हिन्दीಕನ್ನಡമലയാളംதமிழ்తెలుగు

ICC World Twenty20 2014 Tournament Guide

Posted by:
Updated: Monday, March 10, 2014, 13:50 [IST]
 
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

ICC World Twenty20 2014 Tournament Guide

Dhaka, Mar 10: The stage is ready in Bangladesh for the ICC World Twenty20 2014 tournament to be unveiled. The global ICC event will be held from March 16 to April 6 across three venues.

Schedule; Squads; Record-holder Dhoni

Here are the must-know facts about the tournament

Tournament duration - March 16 to April 6

Number of teams - 16 (increased this year from 12 to 16)

Match times - 3 PM IST (9.30 AM GMT); 7 PM IST (1.30 PM GMT); 11 AM IST (5.30 AM GMT)

Times for semi-finals and final - 6.30 PM IST (1 PM GMT)

Number of teams in qualifiers - 8

Number of teams for main draw (Super 10) - 10 (2 qualify from first round)

Tournament format - Top 8 sides from ICC World T20 2012 have got direct entry into main draw. Two will qualify from first round where six teams compete including hosts Bangladesh

Teams in Quailfying stage - 8 - Ireland, Afghanistan, Nepal, UAE, Netherlands, Hong Kong, Bangladesh, Zimbabwe

First round (qualifiers) - March 16 to 21

Qualifying groups - Group A: Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Nepal, Hong Kong. Group B: Zimbabwe, Ireland, UAE, Netherlands. Top team from each group qualifies

Qualifying matches - 12

Main draw - March 21 to April 6

Main draw pools - Group 1: Sri Lanka, South Africa, England, New Zealand, Qualifier (B1). Group 2: India, Pakistan, Australia, West Indies, Qualifier (A1)

Semi-finals: Top two from each group will make the semi-finals

Host cities - Chittagong, Dhaka, Sylhet

Stadiums - Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium (Chittagong), Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium (Mirpur, Dhaka), Sylhet International Cricket Stadium (Sylhet)

Total number of matches - 35

Number of days - 22

Semi-finals and Final - Sher-e-Bangla Stadium on April 3, 4 and 6

ThatsCricket

Story first published:  Monday, March 10, 2014, 12:01 [IST]
Write Comments