ICC World Twenty20 2014: Team Guide - India

Posted by:
Published: Tuesday, March 11, 2014, 12:23 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mirpur, Mar 11: India will aim to become the first team in ICC World Twenty20 Championship history to win the title twice.

Tournament Guide; Afghanistan Team Profile

The MS Dhoni-led side won the inaugural championship in 2007 but failed in the next three editions.

ICC World T20 2014: Team Guide - India

Here is Team India's profile

India Squad

1. Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain) - 32 years

2. Ajinkya Rahane - 25 years

3. Amit Mishra - 31 years

4. Stuart Binny - 29 years

5. Bhuvneshwar Kumar - 24 years

6. Mohammed Shami - 23 years

7. Mohit Sharma - 25 years

8. Ravichandran Ashwin - 27 years

9. Ravindra Jadeja - 25 years

10. Rohit Sharma - 26 years

11. Shikhar Dhawan - 27 years

12. Suresh Raina - 27 years

13. Varun Aaron - 24 years

14. Virat Kohli - 25 years

15. Yuvraj Singh - 32 years

Coach: Duncan Fletcher

India's Matches (Group 2)

March 21 - Vs Pakistan, Mirpur (7 PM IST)

March 23 - Vs West Indies, Mirpur (7 PM IST)

March 28 - Vs Qualifier, Mirpur (7 PM IST)

March 30 - Vs Australia, Mirpur (7 PM IST)

MS Dhoni aims for unique record

Mahendra Singh Dhoni is seeking to become the first captain in international cricket history to hold all three ICC global event titles at the same time.

In 2007, he led India to victory by five runs over Pakistan at Johannesburg in the final of the inaugural ICC World Twenty20.

Four years later he skippered his country to victory over Sri Lanka on home soil, at the Wankhede Stadium, in the final of the World Cup 2011.

This was India's second ICC CWC title following its shock victory over champion West Indies at Lord's in 1983.

Dhoni is one of three players - Yuvraj Singh and Rohit Sharma being the others - who played in the 2007 ICC World Twenty20 final and also India's most recent T20I against Australia in October 2013.

One of the most memorable moments of the 2007 tournament was Yuvraj hitting England's Stuart Broad for six sixes in an over at Durban in the Group Stage.

In the three ICC World Twenty20 tournaments since 2007, India has not progressed beyond the Super Eight stage.

As of the end of January, India was second to Sri Lanka in the ICC T20I Rankings and had won 25 and lost 19 of its 46 T20Is.

India had won 11 and lost six of those matches played in Asia. Yuvraj Singh was Man of the match in four of India's six most recent T20Is between October 2012 and October 2013.

Past performances at World T20

2007 (South Africa) - Champions

2009 (England) - Super Eight

2010 (West Indies) - Super Eight

2012 (Sri Lanka) - Super Eight


Write Comments