Vijay Hazare Trophy: Uthappa hits ton again as Karnataka reach final

Posted by:
Published: Friday, March 14, 2014, 17:18 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Uthappa hits ton, Karnataka enter final

Kolkata, Mar 14: Karnataka, after winning Ranji Trophy and Irani Cup this season, have a chance to complete a hat-trick of titles as they reached the Vijay Hazare Trophy one-day tournament final today.

R Vinay Kumar-led Karnataka, defeated Jharkhand by 21 runs in the semi-finals on Friday at the Jadavpur University Complex ground.

In the final, Karnataka will face Bengal or Railways on Sunday (March 16).

After being sent to bat, Karnataka posted 323 for six in 50 overs. Robin Uthappa (133, 135 balls, 12x4, 4x6), followed hit his second successive century. There were half centuries from Mayank Agarwal (66, 67 balls, 9x4) and KL Rahul (67, 72 balls, 5x4). Rahul Shukla took three wickets for Jharkhand.

This was opener Uthappa's second straight ton. He had scored 132 not out against Gujarat in the quarter-finals at the same ground on March 11.

In reply, Jharkhand came close, reaching 302/9 in 50 overs. Opener Ishank Jaggi's 121-ball 141 (16x4, 4x6), went in vain.

For Karnataka, Vinay took 4/75 in 12 overs while Abhimanyu Mithun had figures of 3/52 in 10 overs. HS Sharath and Abrar Kazi took one wicket apiece.

Brief Scores

Karnataka 323/6 in 50 overs (Robin Uthappa 133, KL Rahul 67, Mayank Agarwal 66, Rahul Shukla 3/59) beat Jharkhand 302/9 in 50 overs (Ishank Jaggi 144, Saurabh Tiwary 47, Kumar Deobrat 32, R Vinay Kumar 4/75, Abhimanyu Mithun 3/52)


Write Comments