Hat-trick: Karnataka win Vijay Hazare Trophy, create history

Posted by:
Updated: Sunday, March 16, 2014, 23:18 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Kolkata, Mar 16: Karnataka created history today by winning the Vijay Hazare Trophy one-day tournament here at Eden Gardens.

Karnataka defeated Railways by four wickets in the final to complete a hat-trick of titles this season. The R Vinay Kumar led team had won Ranji Trophy and Irani Cup during the ongoing 2013-14 season.

Hat-trick of titles for Karnataka

In a low-scoring final on Sunday, Karnataka held their nerve to chase down 158 in 43 overs. Karun Nair, batting at number seven, starred with the willow, scoring an unbeaten 53.

Karnataka winning three titles in the same season is a new record. No other team has ever achieved this feat in Indian domestic history.

Railways bowlers fought hard till the end but could not stop Karnataka from taking their maiden Vijay Hazare Trophy honour.

Karnataka were 47/5 in 11.4 overs in the run-chase. KL Rahul (38, 72 balls, 4x4) and Nair (53 not out, 86 balls, 4x4) added an invaluable 66 for the sixth wicket and later Nair and Kunal Kapoor (24 not out, 45 balls, 2x4) saw the team home.

Pace duo of Anureet Singh (2/41) and Krishnakant Upadhyay (3/30) had Karnataka batsmen in trouble right from the start.

Earlier, Abhimanyu Mithun took four wickets as Railways were bowled out for 157 in 47.4 overs after being sent to bat. Robin Uthappa and Abrar Kazi had two wickets apiece.

Brief Scores

Railways 157 all out in 47.4 overs (Rongsen Jonathan 46, Arindam Ghosh 33, Shivakant Shukla 21, Abhimanyu Mithun 4/19, Robin Uthappa 2/19, Abrar Kazi 2/27) lost to Karnataka 158/6 in 43 overs (Karun Nair 53 not out, KL Rahul 38, Karun Nair 24 not out, Krishnakant Upadhyay 3/30, Anureet Singh 2/41)


Story first published:  Sunday, March 16, 2014, 16:50 [IST]
Write Comments