IPL 7: KKR Vs MI in opener at Abu Dhabi on April 16

Posted by:
Updated: Wednesday, March 19, 2014, 18:12 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

IPL 7: KKR Vs MI in opener at Abu Dhabi

Chennaii, Mar 19: The United Arab Emirates (UAE) will host 20 matches of IPL 7 from April 16 to 30, the Governing Council (GC) announced today in Chennai. The opening game will be between defending champions Mumbai Indians and Kolkata Knight Riders in Abu Dhabi (8 PM IST, 6.30 PM local time).

The Schedule

The matches will be held in Abu Dhabi, Sharjah and Dubai. The venues are Sheikh Zayed Stadium (Abu Dhabi), Sharjah CA Stadium (Sharjah) and Dubai International Cricket Stadium (Dubai).

Due to the general elections in India, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) had decided to hold the first leg of IPL 7 games in UAE.

"The IPL GC has confirmed that the first phase of the #PepsiIPL 2014 season matches will be played in the UAE from April 16-30," a tweet from IPL's official handle said today.

In another tweet, it added "20 matches will be played in 3 stadiums: Sheikh Zayed Stadium- Abu Dhabi, Sharjah CA Stadium, Dubai International Cricket Stadium #PepsiIPL".

The tournament will run from April 16 to June 1, with matches returning to India from May 13.


Story first published:  Wednesday, March 19, 2014, 15:45 [IST]
Write Comments