Highlights: World T20: India Vs Pakistan in Mirpur

Posted by:
Published: Friday, March 21, 2014, 22:34 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mirpur, Mar 21: India started their ICC World Twenty20 2014 campaign on winning note as they defeated Pakistan by seven wickets here on Friday.


First, the bowlers did an outstanding job to restrict Pakistan to 130/7 in 20 overs. In reply, barring Yuvraj, all other batsmen contributed to take the team to victory in 18.3 overs.

Highlights: World T20: India Vs Pakistan

Highlights of the match

India: Sixes: 4; Fours: 14; Top scorer: Virat Kohli 36 not out (32 balls, 4x4, 1x6); Highest wickets: Amit Mishra 2/22 in 4 overs

Pakistan: Sixes: 2; Fours: 11; Top scorer: Umar Akmal 33 (30 balls, 2x4); Highest wickets: 1 each for Saeed Ajmal, Umar Gul and Bilawal Bhatti

# With today's win, India maintained their winning streak over Pakistan in World Cups (50 overs and T20)

# Against Pakistan, India have won 5 matches in 50-over World Cup and 4 in World T20s

# Virat Kohli top scored for India with 36 not out. Suresh Raina was unbeaten on 35

# Kohli and Raina had an unfinished partnership of 66 for the fourth wicket in 8.2 overs

# India scored 38/0 in first six overs of powerplay

# Openers Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan added 54 for the first wicket in 8 overs

# Raina was dropped on 7 by Shahid Afridi at first slip off Mohammad Hafeez

# Amit Mishra bowled a wicket-maiden over - 9th of the innings - got Ahmed Shehzad stumped

# Mishra, playing in his 2nd T20I after nearly four years since debut in 2010, took 2/22 in 4 overs. He won the Man-of-the-match award

# Ravindra Jadeja was the most economical bowler with 1/18 in 4 overs

# After 10 overs, Pakistan were 50/3

# At the end of 15 overs, Pakistan were 96/3

# Pakistan's best over was the 20th over when Sohaib Maqsood scored 15 off Mohammad Shami

# Pakistan's 50 came off 58 balls; 100: 95

# In first six overs of powerplay, Pakistan scored 34/1

# Hafeez was dropped on 5 by Yuvraj Singh off Shami

# Raina became only the second fielder after Ross Taylor (New Zealand) to take three catches in a T20I on two occasions

# Dhoni won the toss and opted to field

# India went in with three spinners


Write Comments