Sri Lanka beat India to claim World T20 title

Posted by:
Updated: Sunday, April 6, 2014, 23:26 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mirpur, Apr 6: India'’s quest for a historic treble ended in heartbreak as a gutsy Sri Lanka produced a clinical display to win their maiden ICC World T20 trophy with a convincing six-wicket victory here today.


Sri Lanka thus became third time lucky in the World T20 summit clash while Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s dream to win a record third World title lay in tatters as his team faltered when it mattered the most.

Sri Lanka claim World T20 title

Despite Virat Kohli’'s belligerent 77, Yuvraj Singh’s excruciatingly slow innings of 11 off 21 balls left India with a very modest score 130 for four in 20 overs.

Kohli'’s brilliance went down the drain due to Yuvraj’'s struggle. Sri Lanka faced a few anxious moments in the early stages of the chase but eventually overhauled the target with 13 balls to spare.

It turned out to be a ‘fitting finale’ for the two retiring legends of Sri Lankan cricket as Mahela Jayawardene and Kumar Sangakkara certainly made it a ‘farewell to remember’ as the champions ended their T20 careers with a memorable triumph.

Mahela'’s 24 was a sweet little innings which set the tempo while Sangakkara anchored it to perfection with an unbeaten 52.

He again proved to be a thorn in the flesh for the Indians as he chose the final of the tournament to claw his way back to form after indifferent first five matches.

The match decisively swung in Sri Lanka’'s favour in the 15th over in which Thisara Perera (17 no) chanced his arms to hit Amit Mishra over long-on while Sangakkara swept him fine to get a boundary. 15 runs came off that over and the match was as good as over by then.

In Mishra'’s next over, Sangakkara hit him over extra cover for a boundary while Thisara again hit the portly leggie for a six. Mishra went for 32 from four overs and would like to forget his last two matches after a good start.

While Sangakkara made it a 'Farewell to Remember', Yuvraj Singh, may face the ire of Indian cricket fans as his slow batting completely upset the momentum for the Indians.

Sangakkara completed his 50 off 33 balls with a sweep and was egged on by the hero of 1996 World Cup Sanath Jayasuriya.

India though started their defence in right earnest when Kusal Perera (5) was removed in the second over by young Mohit.

However in his next over, Jayawardene got three boundaries as Lanka were finally up and running in their chase.

The first was a cheeky upper cut, the second a tuck off his hips and the third a ‘lemon cut’ as 15 runs came off that Mohit over.

Then came the Mahela special as he played a deft late-cut off Bhuvneshwar. It was followed with another cheeky scoop over bowler’s head as Indians had a surrendered look on their faces. T M Dilshan (18) was caught by Kohli at deep square leg fence off Ashwin as Sangakkara joined Jayawardene.

Jayawardene’'s crisp 24 ended when he tried an uncharacteristically cross-batted heave off Suresh Raina that was caught at deep mid-wicket boundary by Ashwin.

Lahiru Thirimanne (7) was dismissed when he went for a cut shot and Dhoni snapped it brilliantly behind the stumps off Mishra'’s bowling. Sri Lanka were 78 for four at that stage but Perera and Sangakkara coolly carried the team home.

India restricted to 130/4

Virat Kohli continued his stupendous form with a classy 77 but India managed a below-par 130 for four against Sri Lanka bowlers who bowled brilliantly in the death overs.

Kohli struck his fourth half century of the tournament with yet another superb effort but Lankan bowlers applied brakes on a struggling Yuvraj Singh which certainly hampered the scoring rate to a large extent.

Kohli struck five fours and four sixes in his 58-ball knock as Yuvraj turned out to be a complete disaster as he looked completely out of sorts which even frustrated the in-form batsman at the other end.

The last four overs produced only 19 runs due to Yuvraj's failure to get big hits. While Kohli peppered all parts of the field with his blazing blade, Yuvraj found it difficult to even pick up Sachithra Senanayeke's 'doosra' and Lasith Malinga’s blockhole deliveries.

His struggle became so apparent that even Kohli’s anger was palpable at the other end as the hero of 2007 triumph consumed delivery after delivery.

Rangana Herath (1/23) and Angelo Mathews (1/25) gave away only 48 runs in the eight overs as it became a Kohli versus Sri Lanka duel.

Even Nuwan Kulasekara (1/29) had a decent day in office despite 16 coming off his one over. When Yuvraj was finally out for 11 off 21 balls as he holed out in the deep, the loudest cheer came from the Indian fans, who were relieved to see him back in the dug-out.

Skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni came in with only 11 deliveries left and found it difficult to accelerate the pace of scoring as Malinga and Kulasekara bowled the yorkers.

Ajinkya Rahane (3) looked completely shaky during his eight-ball stay at the crease. Angelo Mathews pitched it on length and the opener played it early trying to pull it and was played on.

Kohli entered the crease twirling his bat as Vivian Richards used to do during his playing days. He clipped Kulasekara’s inswinging half volley through the deep mid-wicket region for a boundary.

Rohit got his first boundary when Senanayeke couldn’t pitch the carrom ball properly as he pulled it towards square leg for a one bounce four.

Toss Report

Unchanged India were invited to bat first by Sri Lanka captain Lasith Malinga.

There was a 40-minute delay for the toss due to rain. Malinga had no hesitation in opting to bowl first after winning the toss at Sher-e-Bangla Stadium. Despite the delay, it will be a full 20-over contest.

Sri Lanka made one change, bringing back the big-hitting all-rounder Thisara Perera for spinner Seekkuge Prasanna.

At the toss, Dhoni said he too wanted to bowl first. India and Dhoni are bidding to become the first team and captain to hold all three major ICC trophies at the same time. India are the current holders of World Cup (50 overs) and Champions Trophy.

Today's match will be the last for Mahela Jayawardene and Kumar Sangakkara. The duo will retire from T20Is after today's game.

Playing XIs

India: MS Dhoni (captain and wicketkeeper), Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Amit Mishra, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohit Sharma.

Sri Lanka: Lasith Malinga (captain), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kusal Perera, Kumar Sangakkara (wicketkeeper), Mahela Jayawardene, Angelo Mathews, Thisara Perera, Lahiru Thirimanne, Sachithra Senanayake, Rangana Herath, Nuwan Kulasekara.


Story first published:  Sunday, April 6, 2014, 18:57 [IST]
Write Comments