Same format retained for 2016 World T20 in India

Posted by:
Published: Thursday, April 10, 2014, 17:02 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Same format retained for 2016 World T20

Dubai, Apr 10: The International Cricket Council (ICC) has decided to retain the same format for the next edition of World Twenty20 to be held in India in 2016.

The ICC Board today announced that the same 16-team format will be in place for the event two years later.

In the recently concluded World T20 in Bangladesh, 8 teams played the first round (qualifiers) and two made it to the Super 10 Stage (second round). Sri Lanka won the title, defeating India by 6 wickets.

"Following the success of the ICC World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014, the ICC Board agreed that the same format be retained for the ICC World Twenty20 events in 2016, which will be staged in India," ICC said in a media release on Thursday.

"For the 2016 event, the top eight Full Members on the ICC T20I Team Rankings as on 30 April 2014 will automatically qualify for the second round, while the ninth and 10th ranked Full Members will get automatic places in the first round. The six qualifiers will progress from the 14-team ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier 2015, which will be staged in Ireland and Scotland from 9 July to 2 August 2015 during which a total of 51 matches will be played," it added.

At the meeting, the ICC Board thanked the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) for the successful staging of the World T20 and praised the Bangladesh government, security agencies and the general public for their contributions and support. The ICC Board also congratulated Sri Lanka for winning the men's title and Australia's women for completing a hat-trick of titles.

ICC President Alan Isaac said: "The ICC World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014 was an extremely successful event which was thoroughly enjoyed by the players, officials, spectators and media. A lot of credit must be given to the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) and the ICC team for putting up a memorable show.

"The event helped Bangladesh enhance its infrastructure in Dhaka and Chittagong and develop a new international venue in Sylhet. Sri Lanka's triumph means the event has produced five different men's champions in as many editions. The encouraging performances of the Associate Members and their successes over the Full Members clearly reflect that the ICC World Twenty20 is the most open tournament on the ICC calendar."


Write Comments