Rod Marsh named chairman of Australia selection panel

Posted by:
Published: Friday, May 2, 2014, 11:55 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Rod Marsh is chairman of selectors

Melbourne, May 2: Cricket Australia has appointed former Test great Rod Marsh as Chairman of the National Selection Panel (NSP), replacing John Inverarity. Former Test batsman Mark Waugh is also part of the panel.

Marsh is set to move from his current part-time position on the NSP to a full-time role leading a new-look panel that includes National Coach Darren Lehmann, along with new members, Australian Test and One-Day International great Mark Waugh and former NSP Chairman Trevor Hohns, Cricket Australia (CA) said in a media release today.

Current selector Andy Bichel's term on the NSP has not been renewed.

In announcing the changes, Cricket Australia Chief Executive Officer James Sutherland paid tribute to Inverarity and Bichel.

"When John Inverarity took over as National Selector the Australian Test team was ranked fourth in the world and its on-field performance was well short of where it is today," Mr Sutherland said.

Sutherland said Marsh, who has been offered a three-year contract, has the experience and knowledge to carry out the challenging responsibilities of leading the NSP.

"Rod Marsh is the right man to take on this important role having been a key member of the panel since 2011," he said.

Commenting on the introduction of Mark Waugh to the NSP, Sutherland said the Australian Cricket Hall of Famer would bring fresh ideas with a particular focus on the limited-overs formats.

"We think Mark will bring great experience to the role. His particular focus will be on our limited-overs program. He was one of the world's greatest one-day international players. We think he can add a lot, particularly in an important World Cup year," he said.

The new NSP will come together on 1 July 2014 with all current selectors seeing out their contracts.


Write Comments