Highlights: IPL 7 Match 21: CSK Vs KKR in Ranchi

Posted by:
Updated: Saturday, May 3, 2014, 0:37 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Ranchi, May 3: Two-time champions Chennai Super Kings registered their fifth win in a row as they defeated Kolkata Knight Riders by 34 runs in a rain-curtailed contest at IPL 7 here early Saturday.

Scorecard; Over-by-over runs

The match was scheduled to start at 8 PM IST on Friday, but got under way at 9.40 PM due to rain. It was reduced to 17 overs per side and CSK produced a top-class performance in their skipper MS Dhoni's hometown.

Highlights: IPL 7 Match 21: CSK Vs KKR

Ravindra Jadeja, Mohit Sharma and Brendon McCullum were the architects of CSK's victory.

Chasing 149 in 17 overs, KKR lost the game in the first 10 overs after being reduced to 65/5 courtesy of poor shots by their batsmen. Jadeja took 4/12 in 4 overs on a pitch that helped slow bowlers.

Highlights of the match

# This was CSK's fifth win in a row. They have achieved this (5 or more) for the third time (Previous - 5 on the trot in 2007 and 7 successive wins in 2013)

# Fours - CSK: 13; KKR: 8

# Sixes - CSK: 6; KKR: 5

# Top scorers - CSK: Brendon McCullum 56 (40 balls, 5x4, 2x6); KKR: Robin Uthappa 47 (38 balls, 5x4, 1x6)

# Highest wickets - KKR: Shakib Al Hasan 2/25 in 4 overs; CSK: Ravindra Jadeja 4/12 in 4 overs

# Powerplay scores (1-5 overs) - CSK: 33/1; KKR: 38/2

# Highest partnership of the match - 70 runs for second wicket between McCullum and Suresh Raina

# Best economy - Jadeja (3.00)

# Only two KKR batsmen got into double-digits (Uthappa and Yusuf Pathan)

# Jadeja took two wickets in two balls - Manish Pandey and Shakib. The hat-trick ball was played out by Uthappa for a single

# Mohit Sharma is now the Purple Cap holder with 11 wickets in the tournament. He took 3/23 in 3 overs today. Mohit had two wickets (Piyush Chawla and Yusuf Pathan) off successive balls in the final over of the match


Story first published:  Saturday, May 3, 2014, 0:33 [IST]
Write Comments