Suresh Raina named India captain for Bangladesh ODIs

Posted by:
Updated: Thursday, May 29, 2014, 17:39 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mumbai, May 28: Suresh Raina has been named India captain for the One Day International tour of Bangladesh next month. Regular captain MS Dhoni has been rested along with Virat Kohli, R Ashwin, Shikhar Dhawan, Ravindra Jadeja and Rohit Sharma.

Gambhir back in Test squad

The selectors today picked Raina to lead the 15-member side. The left-hander was dropped from the side in India's previous ODI series - Asia Cup but has got the nod for the leadership role as he is the senior-most in this squad. Raina has led India in ODIs in 2010 (in Zimbabwe) and 2011 (in West Indies).

Suresh Raina named India captain

Karnataka's Robin Uthappa returned to ODI squad after a gap of nearly 6 years. Uthappa, who is currently the leading run-scorer in the ongoing IPL 7, has forced his way back into the national team.

Also returning to the side were R Vinay Kumar, Manoj Tiwary and Parvez Rasool. Left-arm spinner Akshar Patel has got his maiden call-up along with Kedar Jadhav. Wriddhiman Saha is the wicketkeeper in place of Dhoni.

The 28-year-old Uthappa, who is playing for Kolkata Knight Riders, has scored 655 runs in 15 innings so far in IPL 7.

Prior to this, he piloted Karnataka to the title in India's premier domestic one-day tournament - Vijay Hazare Trophy, scoring 536 runs (average 76.57) with 3 hundreds and a half century.

Uthappa last played a ODI in July, 2008. However, he featured in an international game in March, 2012, when he played a T20 against South Africa.

India will play Bangladesh in a three-match ODI series starting in Dhaka on June 15.

India Squad

Suresh Raina (captain), Robin Uthappa, Ajinkya Rahane, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ambati Rayudu, Manoj Tiwary, Kedar Jadhav, Wriddhiman Saha, Parvez Rasool, Akshar Patel, R Vinay Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Stuart Binny, Mohit Sharma, Amit Mishra.


Story first published:  Wednesday, May 28, 2014, 17:19 [IST]
Write Comments