Bangladesh's Mustafa Kamal becomes ICC President

Posted by:
Published: Thursday, June 26, 2014, 11:58 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mustafa Kamal becomes ICC President

Melbourne, June 26: Bangladesh's Mustafa Kamal became the 11th President of the International Cricket Council (ICC) here today.

Srinivasan becomes ICC Chairman

Kamal took charge from Alan Isaac at the ICC's Annual Conference here Thursday.

Kamal said: "This is a memorable and historic day for Bangladesh cricket. On this day 14 years ago, Bangladesh became the 10th Test playing country. Today, a Bangladeshi becomes the 11th President** of the International Cricket Council. Thank you for bestowing this honour on Bangladesh and me.

"Over the next 12 months, I look forward to working with the ICC Board and ICC Management, and will be delighted to contribute in any way I can. In Mr Srinivasan and David Richardson, I have absolute trust and confidence that we have a combination that will not only strengthen our sport, but will also take this great organisation to a new level," he said.

Profile of Mustafa Kamal

Chartered Accountant by profession

BCB President from September 2009-October 2013

Former Chairman of the ICC's Audit Committee

Asian Cricket Council (ACC) President from 2010-2012

ICC Vice-President from 2012-2014

Former Director of Abahani Limited, one of the most prominent cricket clubs of Bangladesh, from 1991-2007, and Chairman of the club's Cricket Committee from 1991 to 2006

Founded the Lotus Kamal Pace Bowling Cricket Academy in the 1990s, one of the first of its kind in Bangladesh

Led the recruitment process of high profile international cricket players in the Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League, the main cricket competition during Bangladesh's pre-Test era

Brought all domestic first-class players under the BCB central contract system in 2012-13

Elected as a Member of Parliament three times, and presently is the Minister for Planning of the Government of the People's Republic of Bangladesh.

Previous Presidents of ICC

Lord Colin Cowdrey 1989-1993*

Sir Clyde Walcott 1993-1997*

Jagmohan Dalmiya 1997-2000

Malcolm Gray 2000-2003

Ehsan Mani 2003-2006

Percy Sonn 2006-2007

Ray Mali 2007-2008

David Morgan 2008-2010

Sharad Pawar 2010-2012

Alan Isaac 2012-2014

Mustafa Kamal 2014-

*Cowdrey and Walcott both served as 'Chairman' of the ICC. Prior to Lord Cowdrey's appointment, the ICC was administered by the secretary of the Marylebone Cricket Club.


Write Comments