Champion Karnataka teams honoured at Chinnaswamy Stadium

Posted by:
Updated: Saturday, June 28, 2014, 23:08 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bangalore, June 28: Amidst heavy rain at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium here on Saturday, Karnataka State Cricket Association (KSCA) honoured its champion players on an evening steeped in nostalgia.

Former Karnataka's Ranji Trophy champions and the current side that won a historic hat-trick of titles - Ranji Trophy, Irani Cup and Vijay Hazare Trophy, were felicitated by the state cricket association.

Champion Karnataka teams honoured

BCCI's interim President Shivlal Yadav was the chief guest and he along with the office-bearers of KSCA honoured the former and current players.

All 7 Ranji Trophy winning sides were felicitated at the Chinnaswamy Stadium ground amid rain outside. Some of the players could not make it.

India's greats BS Chandrasekhar, GR Viswanath, Erapalli Prasanna were all part of this memorable evening. Prasanna had led Karnataka to two Ranji Trophy titles, their first in 1974 and then again in 1978. SMH Kirmani and current secretary of KSCA Brijesh Patel too were part of the winning outfits during their careers.

All players were presented with a replica of the Ranji Trophy made of silver, weighing 400 grammes. Also on the occasion, First Day Cover and commemorative stamp were released in honour of Karnataka's hat-trick of trophies achievement.

The 2013-14 champions, captained by R Vinay Kumar were given a grand honour. KSCA gave the team Rs 1 crore and the Karnataka goverment also had given same amount.

The support staff of coaches J Arun Kumar (batting), Mansur Ali Khan (bowling), physio, trainer, logistics manager and the video analyst too were honoured.

After receiving the honour, Karnataka captain Vinay said they can dominate Indian domestic cricket for the next five to 10 years.

Rahul Dravid and Anil Kumble were missing on the occasion while Stuart Binny could not make it as he is away in England with the Indian team. Wicketkeeper CM Gautam too was not present as he is undergoing treatment for an injury out of Bangalore.

Karnataka's Ranji Trophy Titles (Read as season, opponent in final, captain, result)

1973-74 - Vs Rajasthan, EAS Prasanna (Won by 185 runs)

1977-78 - Vs Uttar Pradesh, Prasanna (Won by innings and 193 runs)

1982-83 - Vs Bombay, Brijesh Patel (Drawn, won on first innings lead)

1995-96 - Vs Tamil Nadu, Anil Kumble (Drawn, won on first innings lead)

1997-98 - Vs Uttar Pradesh, Rahul Dravid (Drawn, won on first innings lead)

1998-99 - Vs Madhya Pradesh, Sunil Joshi (Won by 96 runs)

2013-14 - Vs Maharashtra, R Vinay Kumar (Won by 7 wickets)


Story first published:  Saturday, June 28, 2014, 23:07 [IST]
Write Comments