Bravo, Chanderpaul, Ramdin now own T20 teams

Updated: Tuesday, August 26, 2014, 15:23 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bravo, Chanderpaul now own T20 teams

Toronto, Aug 26: Four of the biggest names from the West Indies cricket team have signed a deal making them co-owners in the new Canadian Premier League T20 set for next year.

They are one-day captain Dwayne Bravo, Test captain Denesh Ramdin, opening batsman Kieran Powell and former captain and veteran batsman Shivnarine Chanderpaul, reports CMC.

The deal arrives ahead of the countdown to the inaugural North American league tournament scheduled to commence August 1, next year.

"I fully support the growth and development of international-calibre T20 cricket through the Canadian Premier League and the direction being taken by Roy Singh, the League's founder and CEO," said Ramdin, recently appointed West Indies Test team captain.

"Roy has the vision, determination and drive to make this league truly successful and sustainable and I am thrilled to be coming on board as part of such a pioneering venture for the North American market."

The 10-team league will consist of professional cricketers from around Canada, alongside global cricketing superstars from across the world, league officials have confirmed.

"The Canadian Premier League is already creating waves of excitement within the international cricketing community," said Powell.


Story first published:  Tuesday, August 26, 2014, 11:48 [IST]
Write Comments