KPL: Records broken as Panthers maul Rockstars

Posted by:
Updated: Monday, September 1, 2014, 22:32 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mysore, Sep 1: Records were set at the Gangothri Glades ground as Belagavi Panthers annihilated Rockstars by 96 runs in Match 7 of Karbonn Smart Karnataka Premier League (KPL) here on Monday night.

Schedule; Points Table

Panthers posted a mammoth 214/4 in 20 overs and in reply Rockstars were bundled out for 118 in 16.3 overs. There was a brief stoppage in Panthers' batting innings after 9 overs due to rain but the runs continued to flow.

Records set as Panthers maul Rockstars

Panthers total of 214 today is the highest ever in the brief history of KPL and the margin of victory, in terms of runs, is also the biggest in all three editions of KPL.

Opener Bharath Chipli was the top scorer of the match with a breezy 77 off 46 balls. Panthers captain R Vinay Kumar batted, scoring a 12-ball 18 but did not bowl.

For Rockstars, Rajeev was the highest scorer with 41 while captain Sudeep gave his fans a reason to celebrate as he hit 3 sixes and 1 boundary on way to 30 off 22 balls.

This was only the third instance of team scoring more than 200 runs in KPL. The previous highest scores were 201 twice (Panthers in 2009 and Mangalore United in 2010).

Rockstars have now lost all their three games. Yesterday, they went down to Bellary Tuskers by 73 runs. Mangalore United had beaten the Sudeep-led film actors side by 7 wickets in the opener.

This was second successive victory for Panthers. Today's big victory took them to the top of the table.

Brief Scores

Belagavi Panthers 214/4 in 20 overs (Bharath Chipli 77 (46 balls, 6x4, 3x6), Suneel Raju 38 (35b, 2x4, 1x6), M Nidhish 37 (20b, 2x4, 3x6), R Vinay Kumar 18 (12b, 1x6), K Gowtham 15 (6b, 2x6), Vivek Gopan 1/29, Vikranth 1/27, Shabbir Ahluwalia 1/53)

Rockstars 118 all out in 16.3 overs (Rajeev 41 (22b, 7x4, 1x6), Sudeep 30 (22b, 1x4, 3x6), B Naveen 3/16, K Gowtham 3/28, Stalin Hoover 1/13, NC Aiyappa 1/22)

Result - Panthers won by 96 runs

Man-of-the-match - Bharath Chipli (Panthers)

Best Fielder - J Karthik (Rockstars)

Playing tomorrow (September 2) in Mysore

1 PM - Bijapur Bulls Vs Mysore Warriors

5 PM - Mangalore United Vs Belagavi Panthers


Story first published:  Monday, September 1, 2014, 21:33 [IST]
Write Comments