KPL 2014: Mysore Warriors in semis with crushing win

Posted by:
Updated: Monday, September 8, 2014, 11:31 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bangalore, Sep 7: Mysore Warriors marched into the semi-finals of Karbonn Smart Karnataka Premier League (KPL) 2014 with a crushing 9-wicket victory over Bellary Tuskers here Sunday afternoon.

Schedule; Points Table

Warriors scored their fourth win (8 points) in five games and are currently on top of the points table. This win also ensured a last-four berth for defending champions Mangalore United, who too are on 8 points from five matches. Tuskers' are almost eliminated from the tournament with fourth loss.

KPL: Mysore in semis with crushing win

Chasing 154, Warriors romped home in 16.1 overs. Manjesh Reddy and Shishir Bhavane (55 not out) hit fluent unbeaten half centuries. Manjesh was in big-hitting form, smashing a 21-ball 50 and continued, to remain unbeaten on 74. Manjesh-Bhavane had an unbroken partnership of 131 for the second wicket.

Tuskers bowlers were punished by the duo. Their co-owner Arvind Reddy was hit for 39 runs in 3 overs for no wicket including 3 sixes in one over by Bhavane. Paceman Mohammed Niyaz took had forgettable figures of 0/39 in 3.

Earlier, Tuskers took the field without their captain C Raghu, who was unwell. Wicketkeeper-batsman Devraj Patil led the team. Opener and the costliest player in the league, Robin Uthappa looked good for his 41 but could not carry on for a big one. Mayank Agarwal made 33 while Gaurav Dhiman scored 22-ball 26.

For Mysore, Aditya Sagar took 3 wickets for 17. J Suchith had 2 wickets. Vyshak Vijay Kumar could not replicate his previous two games' performances where he took four wickets apiece. The 17-year-old finished his four overs none for 39.

Brief Scores

Bellary Tuskers 153/7 in 20 overs (Robin Uthappa 41 (41 balls, 3x4, 1x6), Mayank Agarwal 33 (24b, 1x4, 2x6), Gaurav Dhiman 26 (22b, 5x4), Devraj Patil 17 (6b, 4x4), Aditya Sagar 3/17, J Suchith 2/22)

Mysore Warriors 157/1 in 16.1 overs (Manjesh Reddy 74 not out (46b, 7x4, 3x6), Shishir Bhavane 55 not out (35b, 3x4, 4x6), KB Pawan 25 (16b, 3x4, 1x6), Vishnu Prabhas 1/17)

Result - Warriors won by 9 wickets

Man-of-the-match - Manjesh Reddy


Story first published:  Sunday, September 7, 2014, 16:58 [IST]
Write Comments