KPL 2014: It's Belagavi Panthers Vs Mysore Warriors in final

Posted by:
Updated: Friday, September 12, 2014, 11:28 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

KPL: It's Panthers Vs Warriors in final

Hubli, Sep 11: Belagavi Panthers raced into the final of the Karbonn Smart Karnataka Premier League (KPL) 2014 with a massive 53-run victory over Bijapur Bulls in the first semi-final here today. Panthers will face Mysore Warriors for the title tomorrow (Friday) at 6 PM IST.

Schedule; Points Table

Panthers, who were sent to bat by Bulls captain Deepak Chougule, posted a big score of 173/6 in 20 overs. In reply, Bulls, who finished top of the table, were reeling at 30/4 in 5.3 overs and eventually bowled out for 120. The match was interrupted by rain twice (Panthers 76/4 in 13 overs and Bulls 69/6 in 11 overs).

Suneel Raju (57 not out) was the batting star for Panthers while left-arm spinner B Naveen (4/13 in 3.2 overs) took the bowling honours.

This is the second final for Panthers, having been the runner-up in the inaugural edition of the tournament in 2009. Panthers had lost that final to Bangalore Provident (Rural).

Mysore defeat Mangalore by 60 runs

In the second semi-final Mysore Warriors too had it easy as they defeated defending champions Mangalore United by 60 runs. Mysore scored 178 and restricted Mangalore to 118 all out to book a spot in the final.

Shishir Bhavane was the top scorer for Mysore with 61. The final flourish came from SP Manjunath and J Suchith. Manjunath hit an 8-ball 22 with three sixes, all off Udit Patel, in the 17th over. Suchith blitzed a 10-ball 25 (3x4, 1x6). In the final 4 overs, Mysore plundered 76 runs. They were 102/5 at the end of the 16th over but raced to 178 by the final ball of the innings was bowled.

In reply, Mangalore were bundled out for 118 in 18 overs with Suchith and Raju Bhatkal claiming three wickets apiece. Ganesh Satish was the highest scorer for Mangalore with 39.

Both semi-finals were won by the team batting first and turned out to be one-sided contests.

Brief Scores

Semi-final 1

Belagavi Panthers 173/6 in 20 overs (Suneel Raju 57 not out (28b, 4x4, 4x6), K Gowtham 31 (13b, 4x4, 1x6), Mir Kaunain Abbas 24 (31b, 2x4), KC Cariappa 2/29, Abhimanyu Mithun 1/24, KP Appanna 1/28)

Bijapur Bulls 120 all out in 17.2 overs (Nishanth Singh 27 (21b, 4x4), KP Appanna 24 (8b, 2x4, 1x6), R Samarth 18 (12b, 3x4), KC Avinash 17 (26b, 1x4), B Naveen 4/13, R Vinay Kumar 2/26, Stalin Hoover 1/15)

Result - Panthers won by 53 runs to reach the final

Man-of-the-match - Suneel Raju

Semi-final 2

Mysore Warriors 178/7 in 20 overs (Shishir Bhavane 61 (46b, 6x4, 1x6), Manish Pandey 29 (23b, 3x4), SP Manjunath 22 (8b, 3x6), J Suchith 25 (10b, 3x4, 1x6), BN Bharath 21 (18b, 3x4), Udit Patel 3/37, Ronit More 2/26, SL Akshay 2/48)

Mangalore United 118 all out in 18 overs (Ganesh Satish 39 (26b, 4x4, 1x6), Rohit Sabharwal 18 (24b, 3x4), Chetan Williams 15 (10b, 1x4, 1x6), Karun Nair 15 (18b, 2x4), J Suchith 3/9, Raju Bhatkal 3/15, Amit Verma 1/23, BN Bharath 1/29)

Result - Warriors won by 60 runs to enter the final

Man-of-the-match - Shishir Bhavane

Prize money for losing semi-finalists Bijapur Bulls and Mangalore United - Rs 2.5 lakhs each


Story first published:  Thursday, September 11, 2014, 18:10 [IST]
Write Comments