Rahul hits fastest ton in KPL; Hubli crash out despite record win

Posted by:
Updated: Thursday, September 11, 2014, 9:54 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Hubli, Sep 10: KL Rahul smashed the fastest century (100 off 49 balls) in Karnataka Premier League (KPL) history today as Hubli Tigers scored a record 136-run victory against Rockstars. However, despite this massive success, Tigers failed to qualify for the semi-finals. They were edged out by Belagavi Panthers on net run rate.

Schedule; Points Table

Tigers had a huge task of winning by a big margin against Rockstars to make it to the knockouts. But their record-breaking triumph was not enough to keep them in the competition.

KL Rahul hits fastest ton in KPL

With Rahul's century, Tigers piled up a tournament record of 245/6 in 20 overs and later bowled out Rockstars for just 109. However, Panthers who had won their final league game against Bellary Tuskers in the afternoon, went through. Tigers had to restrict Rockstars to 71 to claim the fourth semi-final spot.

Rahul reached to his 100 in 49 balls, the fastest in the history of KPL. He remained not out on 106 with 11 fours and 4 sixes. This was the second ton of this editioin and overall fourth.

Tigers notched up the highest ever total in KPL with 245/6. Also their margin of victory (136 runs) is a record. Rockstars lost all their six games in the KPL, only team without a win.

Panthers have a net run rate of 1.31 to Tigers' 1.00. Both were tied at 6 points each. Panthers will face Bijapur Bulls in the semi-finals. The other last-four clash is between Mangalore United and Mysore Warriors. Both semi-finals will be played tomorrow (September 11).

Brief Scores

Hubli Tigers 245/6 in 20 overs (KL Rahul 106 not out (51 balls, 11x4, 4x6), B Akhil 56 (32b, 7x4, 2x6), Kranthi Kumar 23 (13b, 2x4, 1x6), Charan Teja 3/42, J Karthik 2/48)

Rockstars 109 all out in 19.4 overs (Rajeev 34 (22b, 4x4, 2x6), Aadarsh 24 not out (17b, 2x4, 2x6), S Aravind 3/10, Prasanna Patil 2/20)

Result - Tigers won by 136 runs

Man-of-the-match - KL Rahul

Bellary Tuskers 108/5 in 20 overs (Mayank Agarwal 42 (34b, 6x4), NC Aiyappa 1/21, B Naveen 1/13, Stalin Hoover 1/19, K Gautham 1/6, Pustak Nag 1/12)

Belagavi Panthers 110/2 in 11.4 overs (Mir Kaunain Abbas 69 (41b, 9x4, 2x6), K Gautham 17 (14b, 2x4), IG Anil 1/17)

Result - Panthers won by 8 wickets

Man-of-the-match - Mir Kaunain Abbas

Semi-finals (playing tomorrow - September 11)

2PM - Bijapur Bulls Vs Belagavi Panthers

6PM - Mangalore United Vs Mysore Warriors

Centuries in KPL (4)

106* (100 off 49 balls) - KL Rahul (Hubli Tigers Vs Rockstars)

112* (100 off 57) - Manish Pandey (Belagavi Panthers Vs Mangalore United, 2009)

100 (100 in 61) - Mayank Agarwal (Davangere Diamonds Vs Belagavi Panthers, 2010)

100* (100 off 62) - Karun Nair (Mangalore United Vs Bijapur Bulls, 2014)


Story first published:  Thursday, September 11, 2014, 0:17 [IST]
Write Comments