Mysore Warriors win KPL 2014 in a thrilling final

Posted by:
Updated: Saturday, September 13, 2014, 13:12 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Hubli, Sep 12: In a thrilling final, Mysore Warriors edged Belagavi Panthers by 6 wickets to win the Karbonn Smart Karnataka Premier League (KPL) 2014 title here tonight.

All the results and match reports

Manjesh Reddy (52) and Amit Verma (39 not out) were the stars for Mysore as they successfully chased down 171 in a nail-biting last-over finish at the KSCA Stadium.

Mysore Warriors win KPL 2014

Needing 10 in the final over bowled by off-spinner K Gowtham, left-handed Verma finished the game with one ball to spare. With 3 singles in the first three balls, the game was sealed in the next two deliveries by Verma.

Calm under pressure, Verma smashed 6 and a 4 to trigger wild celebrations in the Mysore camp. Captain R Vinay Kumar bowled the 19th over but he was hit for 17 runs turning the match towards Mysore.

This was second KPL title for Verma, who was with Bangalore Provident (Rural) in 2009 trophy triumph. In that final, Verma had taken 2 wickets and scored 11 against same opponents.

It was a slow start to Mysore's run chase. They were 27/1 in 6 overs. It was the arrival of Manjesh at number three which accelerated the scoring run rate. Captain Manish Pandey walked into bat at number four when 104 runs were required off 61. He made 17 and when he departed to a superb catch by Gowtham, the equation was 60 off 32.

A well set Manjesh was sent back in the 17th over by Vinay. But Verma and Manjunath put on a match-winning unbroken partnership of 44 in 20 balls and helped Mysore claim the trophy.

"It is great (to win). I am very proud of my boys. We had a talented team," said Mysore captain Pandey after the final.

Pandey said they were dedicating the trophy to the Late Srikantadatta Narasimharaja Wodeyar, former president of Karnataka State Cricket Association (KSCA). "I dedicate this trophy to the Maharaja Wodeyar," Pandey said.

Losing skipper Vinay said Mysore had outplayed Belagavi in all departments of the game. "Congratulations to Manish Pandey and his team. They outplayed us in all departments," Vinay said.

Earlier, Panthers posted 170/7 in 20 overs. M Nidhish was the top scorer with 70. The Panthers made Mysore pay for poor fielding and dropped catches. Left-arm spinner J Suchith took 3/38.

Brief Scores

Belagavi Panthers 170/7 in 20 overs (M Nidhish 70 (53 balls, 8x4, 2x6), Bharath Chipli 28 (25b, 2x6), Abhishek Reddy 24 (17b, 3x4), R Vinay Kumar 23 not out (11b, 1x4, 1x6), J Suchith 3/38, Amit Verma 1/25, Vyshak Vijay Kumar 1/39)

Mysore Warriors 174/4 in 19.5 overs (Manjesh Reddy 52 (36b, 2x4, 4x6), Amit Verma 39 not out (16b, 3x4, 3x6), Shishir Bhavane 28 (27b, 1x4, 1x6), Manish Pandey 17 (14b, 1x6), SP Manjunath 13 not out (9b, 2x4) R Vinay Kumar 1/29, B Naveen 1/29, Stalin Hoover 1/30, K Gowtham 1/39)

Result - Warriors won by 6 wickets to clinch the title

Man-of-the-match - Amit Verma

Highest run scorer - KL Rahul 347 runs (Hubli Tigers) (Rs 50,000)

Most wickets - J Suchith 16 wickets (Mysore Warriors) (Rs 50,000)

Most trusted player of the tournament - Suchith (Rs 100,000)

Man-of-the-series - Shishir Bhavane (Mysore Warriors) - Maruti Suzuki Alto car

Fair Play Award - Rockstars

Prize Money

Champion - Rs 10 lakhs

Runner-up - Rs 5 lakhs

Losing Semi-finalists - Rs 2.5 lakhs each

Previous Champions

2009 - Bangalore Provident (Rural)

2010 - Mangalore United

2011 to 2013 - Tournament not played


Story first published:  Friday, September 12, 2014, 22:13 [IST]
Write Comments