CLT20 2014 Preview: Match 5: KXIP Vs Barbados

Updated: Friday, September 19, 2014, 16:13 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mohali, Sep 19: After launching their campaign on a winning note, IPL finalists Kings XI Punjab will look to dish out another dominating performance when they face the formidable Barbados Tridents in a Group B match of the Champions League twenty20 here tomorrow.

Schedule; Points Table

The Kings XI came into the tournament on the back of a successful IPL season and they continued with their aggressive brand of cricket, defeating Hobart Hurricanes by five wickets with more than two overs to spare last night.

CLT20 2014 Preview: Match 5: KXIP Vs BT

It was once again a power-packed innings by Australia's Glenn Maxwell, the third highest run scorer in IPL 7, which guided Kings XI home, while skipper George Bailey too chipped in with 27-ball 34 at the Punjab Cricket Association Stadium.

However, Bailey will be a little worried about their top order which contributed just 51 with Virender Sehwag and David Miller returning to the pavilion without opening their accounts.

Barbados Tridents, on the other hand, are coming into the tournament after winning the Caribbean Premier League and they are one of the most formidable sides in the tournament, which also features teams from Australia, South Africa, New Zealand and Pakistan.

However, the tridents will be without the services of three of their top players - Kieron Pollard, Shoaib Malik and Dwayne Smith - who have chosen to play for other teams in the tournament.


Kings XI Punjab: George Bailey (captain), Thisara Perera, Glenn Maxwell, David Miller, Akshar Patel, Karanveer Singh, Lakshmipathy Balaji, Manan Vohra, Mandeep Singh, Rishi Dhawan, Virender Sehwag, Wriddhiman Saha (wicketkeeper), Anureet Singh, Parvinder Awana. Coach: Sanjay Bangar

Barbados Tridents: Rayad Emrit (captain), Shane Dowrich, Jeevan Mendis, Jason Holder, Ashley Nurse, Jonathan Carter, Neil Mckenzie, Akeal Hosein, Ravi Rampaul, Raymon Reifer, Kyle Mayers, William Perkins (wicketkeeper), James Franklin, Elton Chigumbura, Dilshan Munaweera. Coach: Vasbert Drakes

Match starts 8 PM IST. At 4 PM - Scorchers Vs Dolphins

Live Scores here

Live streaming on host broadcaster


Story first published:  Friday, September 19, 2014, 12:15 [IST]
Write Comments