Raina's 62-ball 109* hands CSK CLT20 2014 title

Posted by:
Updated: Monday, October 6, 2014, 13:50 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bangalore, Oct 4: Suresh Raina blazed his way to an unbeaten 62-ball 109 to power Chennai Super Kings to their second Champions League T20 (CLT20) title here tonight at M Chinnaswamy Stadium. With this triumph, CSK halted Kolkata Knight Riders' (KKR) 14-match unbeaten run. (Photos of CSK celebrations)


Chasing 181 to win the final, CSK romped home by 8 wickets with 9 balls to spare against the Gautam Gambhir-led KKR. Captain MS Dhoni finished the game in style, with a six off Yusuf Pathan, reminiscent of the 2011 World Cup final. CSK received a cheque of $2.5 million. (Full list of award winners, stats)

CSK win CLT20 title after Raina ton

CSK became only the second team in CLT20 history to win two titles. The Dhoni-lead side had won in 2010. Mumbai Indians had won in 2011 and 2013. The triumph on Saturday also ended a three-year trophy drought for CSK.

With a magnificent century here, Raina became the only batsman in history to score a hundred in T20 International, IPL and CLT20.

On a perfect batting pitch, KKR needed more than 200 to contain the batting power of CSK with no Sunil Narine in their ranks as the West Indian was banned from bowling in this match. With Raina in full flow, KKR spinners were taken to the cleaners including the young left-arm chinaman bowler Kuldeep Yadav, who was included in the Indian team earlier today.

Raina blasted 6 fours and 8 huge sixes. The left-hander reached to 100 off 59 balls. He was severe on Kuldeep, hitting him for 3 big sixes. Brendon McCullum scored a 30-ball 39 and Dhoni was unbeaten with 23 off 14.

Raina and McCullum added 112 runs in 12.2 overs, completely dominating the proceedings. Later, Raina was involved in an unbroken partnership of 58 in 5.2 overs with Dhoni.

Earlier, KKR made a good start but lost the way in the middle. Thanks to Yusuf Pathan and Manish Pandey, they touched 180. Left-arm spinner Pawan Negi was the star with the ball with outstanding figures of 5/22 in 4 overs. Skipper Gambhir proved his worth as a big match player again, smashing a 52-ball 80 (7x4, 3x6).

Gambhir and his partner Robin Uthappa (39, 32 balls, 4x4, 1x6) put on 91 runs for the opening wicket in 10.5 overs. But Negi weaved his magic in the second half of the innings as KKR faltered in their bid to cross 200.

On a night when three left-handers - Gambhir, Negi and Raina succeeded, two ended on the winning side. It was CSK and Raina's batting that lit up the stadium and gave plenty of reasons to celebrate for the full house on a holiday.

Special Awards

Golden Bat (Most runs in the tournament) - Suresh Raina (234 runs)

Golden Wicket (Most wickets) - Sunil Narine (12 wickets)

Man of the series - Suresh Raina

Man of the final - Pawan Negi

Power player of the series - Suresh Raina (16 sixes)

Fair play award - Cape Cobras

CLT20 Champions

2009 - New South Wales Blues

2010 - CSK

2011 - Mumbai Indians

2012 - Sydney Sixers

2013 - MI

2014 - CSK


Story first published:  Saturday, October 4, 2014, 22:26 [IST]
Write Comments