Bhuvneshwar Kumar nominated for ICC People's Choice Award

Posted by:
Updated: Wednesday, October 8, 2014, 15:20 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Dubai, Oct 8: India's fast bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar has been nominated for this year's LG People's Choice Award. Bhuvneshwar is one of the five nominees for the award, the International Cricket Council (ICC) announced today.

"This year's fifth LG People's Choice Award sees five players from five different countries nominated to win the only award voted for by the public at the annual LG ICC Awards," ICC said in a media release on Wednesday.

Bhuvneshwar nominated for ICC Award

"The quintet of players nominated for the award are England women's captain Charlotte Edwards, Australia fast bowler Mitchell Johnson, India fast bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Sri Lanka captain Angelo Mathews and South Africa fast bowler Dale Steyn.

"Fans will have the opportunity to decide the winner by voting for their favourite player either via www.lgiccawards.com or via Twitter using the hashtag #lgiccawards," ICC added.

The 24-year-old Bhuvneshwar has so far played 11 Tests, 39 ODIs and 9 T20Is. If he wins, he could become the third Indian to take this honour after Sachin Tendulkar and his captain MS Dhoni.

Voting for the LG People's Choice Award is now open and will close at midnight (UAE time) on Thursday, 30 October.

The winner, as well as the ICC Test and ODI Teams of the Year and the short-list for the remaining LG ICC Awards 2014 will be announced on November 5 at the ICC Headquarters in Dubai.

The short-list was nominated by an elite panel of cricket experts, which is headed by ICC Cricket Committee Chairman and former India captain Anil Kumble.

Other members of the panel are Jonathan Agnew, a former England international and now a respected broadcaster/journalist, ex-Sri Lanka opener Russel Arnold, former New Zealand captain Stephen Fleming, and Betty Timmer, former Chair of the ICC Women's Committee.

The five players were selected by the panel using the criteria set out by LG and the ICC, which required that the nominees have displayed attributes regarded by LG as being in line with its corporate qualities, such as innovation, dynamism, strength in decision-making, performing well under pressure and executing a plan to distinction.

ICC Chief Executive David Richardson said: "The support of the fans is vital for the game and particularly valued by the players - hence, the significance of the LG People's Choice award. The overwhelming number of cricket fans who participate to select the winner of this award has made it one of the most prestigious awards in the ICC calendar.

"None of the deserving nominees have won this award before and this year's fan favourite will join the exclusive company of previous winners, Sachin Tendulkar (2010), Kumar Sangakkara (2011 and 2012) and Mahendra Singh Dhoni (2013)."


Story first published:  Wednesday, October 8, 2014, 11:28 [IST]
Write Comments