Vinay Kumar to lead South Zone in Duleep Trophy

Posted by:
Updated: Friday, October 17, 2014, 19:14 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bangalore, Oct 17: Karnataka's Ranji Trophy and Irani Cup winning captain R Vinay Kumar will lead South Zone in the Duleep Trophy.

South Zone will play the second semi-final in Lahli from October 22. They will face the winner of the ongoing quarter-final between East Zone and West Zone. The first semi-final will be contested by Central and North Zones. The five-day final is from October 29 to November 2 in Delhi.

Vinay Kumar to lead South Zone

The South Zone selection committee, under the chairmanship of Roger Binny, met in Chennai on October 15 and picked a 15-man squad.

Karnataka and Tamil Nadu have 5 players each while 3 from Hyderabad, one from Kerala and Goa comprise the squad.

Karnataka's batsmen KL Rahul and Karun Nair have not been considered for selection as they were picked in the Board President's XI team to face West Indies in a three-day game in Kanpur from October 25 to 27.

However, with today's surprise development where the West Indies team pulled out of the tour, it remains to be seen whether the duo get a chance.

Both Rahul and Nair played a big part in Karnataka's triple title triumph this season - Ranji Trophy, Irani Cup and Vijay Hazare Trophy.

South Zone Squad

R. Vinay Kumar (Captain) (Karnataka), Robin Uthappa (Karnataka), Abhinav Mukund (Tamil Nadu) Hanuma Vihari (Hyderabad), Baba Aparajith (Tamil Nadu), R. Prasanna (Tamil Nadu), DB Ravi Teja (Hyderabad), Dinesh Karthik (wicketkeeper) (Tamil Nadu), Abhimanyu Mithun (Karnataka), HS Sharath (Karnataka), Pragayan Ojha (Hyderabad), Shreyas Gopal (Karnataka), Malolan Rangarajan (Tamil Nadu), AS Desai (Goa), VA Jagadeesh (Kerala)


Ravi Kiran (Hyderabad), Amit Yadav (Goa), KS Bharath (Andhra), P Prasanth (Kerala), DB Prasanth (Andhra)

Support Staff

Coach: Hemang Badani

Physio: Thulasi Ram

Trainer: Saravanan Harikrishnan


Story first published:  Friday, October 17, 2014, 19:03 [IST]
Write Comments