KL Rahul's twin tons take South Zone closer to title

Posted by:
Updated: Saturday, November 1, 2014, 17:30 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

New Delhi, Nov 1: Opening batsman KL Rahul hit his second hundred of the match to put South Zone in sight of Duleep Trophy title.

Rahul, who made a classy 185 in the first innings, continued in same vein as he scored an impressive 121 not out off 132 today against Central Zone at the Feroz Shah Kotla. He brought up his ton with a six off rival captain Piyush Chawla. (Also read: Happy to be compared with Dravid: Rahul)

Rahul's twin tons take South closer

Chasing 301 for victory in the final, South Zone rode on Rahul's knock to be comfortably placed at 184/1 in 44 overs by stumps on the fourth day. Baba Aparajith was the other not out batsman with 30. Robin Uthappa (30) was the lone wicket South lost in the second essay. On the final day tomorrow, South need 117 more to win the title.

Speaking after the end of day's play, Karnataka's Rahul said he was happy to get back-to-back hundreds on a big stage. "Feels happy to get back-to-back hundreds on a big stage," he said.

Rahul, who was part of Karnataka's hat-trick titles this year, wants to add a fourth with this on the final day Sunday. "Won 3 (Ranji Trophy, Irani Cup, Vijay Hazare Trophy) and want to put this one as well in the bag. I want to stay not out (tomorrow) and see my team through," the youngster added.

Former India cricketers Bishan Singh Bedi and Aakash Chopra praised Rahul for his century.

The 22-year-old Rahul hit 12 fours and 5 sixes en route to his 6th first-class hundred. The right-hander has impressed the selectors in time as they pick the Test squad for Australia tour on Tuesday (November 4).

Earlier, Central Zone were helped by Robin Bist's unbeaten 112 as they set a 301-run target. Bist's 112 off 174 contained 8 fours and 4 sixes. Central were bowled out for 403. Legspinner Shreyas Gopal took 4/60.

Brief Scores

South Zone 184/1 (Target 301) in 44 overs (KL Rahul 121 batting, Baba Aparajith 30 batting, Robin Uthappa 30, Piyush Chawla 1/51) and 379

Central Zone 403 (Robin Bist 112 not out, Faiz Fazal 72, Jalaj Saxena 71, Ali Murtaza 50, Shreyas Gopal 4/30, Pragyan Ojha 3/99) and 276


Story first published:  Saturday, November 1, 2014, 17:23 [IST]
Write Comments