Vinay Kumar retained Karnataka captain for Vijay Hazare Trophy

Posted by:
Updated: Tuesday, November 4, 2014, 13:49 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bangalore, Nov 4: R Vinay Kumar has been retained Karnataka captain for the Vijay Hazare Trophy one-day tournament which starts on November 7 in Secunderabad.

Karnataka, the defending champions, will play the South Zone leg (K Subbaiah Pillai Trophy) from November 7 to 13. Most of the players who were part of the winning side have been retained. Robin Uthappa, Manish Pandey, KL Rahul, Karun Nair, Abhimanyu Mithun are all back in the 15-man squad to defend the title.

Vinay Kumar retained Karnataka captain

The top two teams from South will qualify for the all-India knockouts of the Vijay Hazare Trophy. Karnataka open their campaign against Andhra on November 7.

This year, BCCI is organising the one-day tournament before Ranji Trophy, to given an opportunity for players to impress ahead of next year's ICC World Cup 2015 in February-March.

Earlier, this year, Karnataka won a historic treble, claiming Ranji Trophy, Irani Cup and Vijay Hazare Trophy titles.

Karnataka Squad

R Vinay Kumar (captain), Robin Uthappa (wicketkeeper), KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Stuart Binny, Mayank Agarwal, Karun Nair, Abrar Kazi, Abhimanyu Mithun, HS Sharath, Shreyas Gopal, Udit Patel, Shishir Bhavane, KC Avinash, Kunal Kapoor. Coaches: Batting: J Arun Kumar; Bowling: Mansur Ali Khan.

Karnataka's Fixtures (All matches in Secunderabad)

November 7 - Vs Andhra

November 8 - Vs Goa

November 10 - Vs Tamil Nadu

November 11 - Vs Hyderabad

November 13 - Vs Kerala


Story first published:  Tuesday, November 4, 2014, 13:21 [IST]
Write Comments