Bhuvneshwar Kumar wins ICC People's Choice Award

Posted by:
Updated: Wednesday, November 5, 2014, 17:50 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Dubai, Nov 5: Indian paceman Bhuvneshwar Kumar has won this year's ICC LG People's Choice Award, the International Cricket Council (ICC) announced today.

Virat Kohli nominated for ODI Cricketer Award

Bhuvneshwar becomes only the fourth cricketer to win this coveted prize after Sachin Tendulkar, who was the first-ever recipient in 2010, Sri Lanka's Kumar Sangakkara, who won it in 2011 and 2012, and India captain MS Dhoni, who won it last year, ICC said on Wednesday.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar wins ICC award

Other nominees for this year's LG People's Choice Award were England women's captain Charlotte Edwards, Australia fast bowler Mitchell Johnson, Sri Lanka captain Angelo Mathews and South Africa fast bowler Dale Steyn.

Reacting to the news, Kumar said: "First of all, I'd like to thank each and every one who has voted for me in the LG People's Choice Award. This award means a lot to me as I didn't get it only for my individual performance but because of the love and support of my fans.

"Where I am today is because of my parents and coaches, and whatever they taught me in life as a person. I'd also like to thank my team-mates because without their support this won't have been possible. So, thank you so much."

Former India captain and ICC Cricket Committee Chairman Anil Kumble today collected the trophy in Dubai on behalf of Bhuvneshwar. Kumble is part of the selection panel for ICC Awards.


Story first published:  Wednesday, November 5, 2014, 13:19 [IST]
Write Comments