Virat Kohli nominated for ICC ODI Cricketer Award

Posted by:
Updated: Wednesday, November 5, 2014, 13:20 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Dubai, Nov 5: India's Virat Kohli has been nominated for the ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year Award. The right-handed batsman is among the four players nominated for the award by the ICC panel. Kohli will fight for the honour against the South African trio of Quinton de Kock, AB de Villiers and Dale Steyn.

The nominations were announced today by the International Cricket Council (ICC). Kohli is the only Indian (men) to make the awards short-lists.

Virat Kohli nominated for ICC award

In the women's ODI Cricketer of the Year short-list, India's captain Mithali Raj has made the cut. Earlier, ICC had tweeted India captain MS Dhoni's name too in the short-list but it turned out to be an error.

Based on the 13 months between 26 August 2013 and 17 September 2014, the LG ICC Awards 2014 will take into account performances by players in what has been a remarkable period for the game.

That period includes the ICC World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014, ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier New Zealand 2014, ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier UAE 2013, various rounds of the ICC Intercontinental Cup, numerous Pepsi ICC World Cricket League and Championship fixtures, ICC Women's Championship and several bilateral Test, ODI and T20I series.

This year marks the 11th year of the LG ICC Awards, and the winners will be announced on 14 November, while a special TV show will be broadcast on 15 November. The show will recap the last year in world cricket and will feature interviews with many nominees and winners.

Selection Panel - Anil Kumble, Chairman, ICC Cricket Committee is the chairman of the five-member Selection Panel, which also includes Jonathan Agnew, a former England international and now a respected broadcaster/journalist, ex-Sri Lanka opener Russel Arnold, former New Zealand captain Stephen Fleming, and Betty Timmer, former Chair of the ICC Women's Committee.

Voting Academy - It comprises 32 highly credentialed cricket personalities from around the world. It includes former players, respected members of the media, as well as representatives from the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Match Officials. They voted on a three, two, one basis (with three being the highest value) and from that process the winners emerged.

Nominees for various ICC Awards

ICC Cricketer of the Year (Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy)

AB De Villiers (South Africa), Mitchell Johnson (Australia), Angelo Mathews (Sri Lanka), Kumar Sangakkara (SL)

Test Cricketer of the Year

Mitchell Johnson, Angelo Mathews, Kumar Sangakkara, David Warner

ODI Cricketer of the Year

Quinton De Kock (South Africa), AB De Villiers (SA), Virat Kohli (India), Dale Steyn (SA)

ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year

Corey Anderson (New Zealand), Gary Ballance (England), Jimmy Neesham (New Zealand), Ben Stokes (England)

ICC Associate and Affiliate Cricketer

Calum MacLeod (Scotland), Preston Mommsen (Scotland), Mohammad Nabi (Afghanistan), Samiullah Shenwari (Afghanistan)

Women's ODI Cricketer of the Year

Charlotte Edwards (England), Mithali Raj (India), Sarah Taylor (England), Stephanie Taylor (England)

T20 International Performance of the Year

Aaron Finch (Australia) 156 (63b, 11x4, 14x6) v England, 29 August 2013, Alex Hales (England) 116 not out (64b, 11x4, 6x6) v Sri Lanka (WT20), 27 Mar 2014, Rangana Herath (Sri Lanka) 3.3-2-3-5 v NZ (WT20), 31 Mar 2014

David Shepherd Trophy for ICC Umpire of the Year

All 12 members of the ICC Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Umpires have been nominated

ICC Spirit of Cricket Award

To be announced on 14 November


Story first published:  Wednesday, November 5, 2014, 12:28 [IST]
Write Comments