MS Dhoni named captain of ICC ODI Team

Posted by:
Updated: Wednesday, November 5, 2014, 17:07 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Dubai, Nov 5: For the 7th consecutive year, India captain MS Dhoni has been named in the ICC ODI Team. Dhoni has been chosen as the skipper of the 2014 team, which was announced by the International Cricket Council (ICC) today.

There are three more Indians in the 12-man squad. Virat Kohli, Mohammed Shami and Rohit Sharma (12th man) are the others.

MS Dhoni named captain of ICC ODI Team

This is also the 5th year that Dhoni has been named captain of the ICC team of the year.

"The ICC today announced its Test and ODI Teams of the Year, as chosen by a specially appointed selection panel chaired by the ICC's Cricket Committee chairman and former India captain Anil Kumble," ICC said on Wednesday.

Statistics were available as a guide but were not necessarily the overwhelming factor in the choices made, ICC added.

In the ICC Test Team of the Year, none of the Indians players have made it. Sri Lanka's Angelo Mathews is the captain of the Test team.

Kumble said: "I would like to congratulate all the players for their selection in the teams of the year. It is an achievement to be proud of and a recognition for their good performances in the qualifying period. Team selection is one of the toughest jobs and when you have a large pool of outstanding players to select from in a 12-month period between 26 August 2013 and 17 September 2014, then it becomes even more difficult."

"However, we think we have selected the best possible sides, which are well balanced and capable of beating any side on any given day in any given conditions. While selecting these squads, the selectors discussed various combinations and took into account several scenarios like opposition, pitch conditions and match situations," he added.

ICC Test Team of the Year 2014 (in batting order)

  • David Warner (Australia)
  • Kane Williamson (New Zealand)
  • Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka)
  • AB de Villiers (South Africa)
  • Joe Root (England)
  • Angelo Mathews (SL) (captain)
  • Mitchell Johnson (Aus)
  • Stuart Broad (Eng)
  • Dale Steyn (SA)
  • Rangana Herath (SL)
  • Tim Southee (NZ)
  • Ross Taylor (NZ) (12th man)

ICC ODI Team of the Year 2014 (in batting order)

  • Mohammad Hafeez (Pakistan)
  • Quinton de Kock (SA)
  • Virat Kohli (India)
  • George Bailey (Aus)
  • AB de Villiers (SA)
  • MS Dhoni (Ind) (wicketkeeper) (captain)
  • Dwayne Bravo (West Indies)
  • James Faulkner (Aus)
  • Dale Steyn (SA)
  • Mohammed Shami (Ind)
  • Ajantha Mendis (SL)
  • Rohit Sharma (Ind) (12th man)


Story first published:  Wednesday, November 5, 2014, 13:35 [IST]
Write Comments